Pattern idea: Waterfall Cardigan

Hi All,

Another successful North London Stitch Up yesterday. We welcomed two new members into the group – Kay and Rachel. A lot of crocheting, which was nice as I’ve been working on a stripy blanket to use up as much of my DK as possible. Some of the yarns in this work in progress have a story – a few gifts from friends, a few that I bought to make gifts for friends and family, the turquoise was from the stash of a friend’s mother who passed away a few years ago, so every time I work on it I’m thinking about the people I love. When people say I should sell the things I make, I don’t think they realise how big a deal it is sometimes to let go of something you’ve put so much energy into!

blanket

Do a base chain row measuring about 6ft, ch3 and then dc into each st, changing colours at the end of each row. My plan is to just keep going and going until it’s a square, it takes about 25 minutes per row. The skull cushion was a housewarming gift from Tessa and is my favourite cushion ever!

So anyway, the point of this blog post. I have a lot of waterfall cardigans. They suddenly came into fashion a few years ago and are extremely flattering for curvy women. You can get them quite cheaply and in really thin jersey knit so they’re ideal to wear in the summer for work (especially to cover up all my tattoos) or in chunkier wool for the winter. The best part is that I think they might be pretty easy to make.

A chunky knitted version of this is what I have in mind.

A chunky knitted version of this is what I have in mind.

Looking at the cardigans I already own, I reckon this would be pretty easy to do without sleeves. 3 rectangles (or 1 rectangle for the back and 2 squares for the front depending on how flowy you want it). Then join them together with gaps left for the arms and finish with a crocheted border. As is my way, I’m just going to start doing it and see how it goes and then post the results here in a few weeks.

I’ve got 4x balls of King Cole Glitz Chunky in 175 Black that I bought from London Haberdashery a few weeks ago. It says on the label to use 6mm needles but based on how I did the cable knit neck warmer I think I’ll try 7mm needles. And I’ll be using the cardigans I already own as a guide for the sizing. When I post the pattern it’ll be in my size so should fit anyone between UK 12 and 16.

Wish me luck!

PS: You might be able to get a pattern for this already for free online. I’ve deliberately not looked into this as I want to design something myself but I have just recently joined Ravelry and have found a couple of patterns I love already. Feel free to add me – carmenliveshere :-)

PPS: I was given this amazing book for my birthday last year about how to make your own clothes. It’s for sewing but a lot of the general principles about shaping and designing are the same, I really recommend it if you’re new to making things and want to make some clothes. You use your favourite clothes as a guide (which is what I’m doing with my cardigan) and though they have step by step tutorials, you can very easily adjust them and make them your own.

Leave a Reply

